It’s here, it’s here!

lsi-cover-smallOn Friday the 6th, a package arrived from LSI containing Briefs for the Reading Room.  It was just a plain brown carton, not that auspicious looking really, but inside was the culmination of a lot of hard work and not a small amount of expense. 

I took a few minutes to look it over.  The cover looked great I thought.  I’m sure there are a lot of reasons it’s not perfect, but to me it looked fantastic.  It’s much better than the first iteration.  Inside, the pages looked… like a book!  Success.  I didn’t find any typos.  I didn’t find any “Oh crap, I wish I had fixed that”s.  I just found my stories, one after another, looking for all the world like a real book.

The back cover looked good too.  The only thing I could find was that they had inserted an extra three blank pages at the end in order to print some little “Printed in the USA” thing on the last page.  If that’s the worst thing I could find, it must have looked pretty good! 

If you’ve been following this blog, you know what I had to do next.  I took Briefs and snapped a couple of pictures to prove that it’s really a book, then wrapped it up all snug and tight back into a box and shipped the whole thing to Amazon.  It was a few days after my first deadline, but I felt like I had accomplished something.  My new book, all bright and shiny, is now at Amazon and should appear ‘in stock’ with the cover and a preview in a few days.  I sure hope that all of this ends up in selling a few!  I won’t be able to ship them one at a time to Amazon and make any money, what they pay me and the postage add up to more than I pay to get the books.  It cost $2.20 to ship there by media mail which seems like too much.   I may have to figure out how to get that cost down.  I wish I could have just dropped it off at Amazon, I drove by the place where I mailed it 2-3 times this weekend.

The next steps are repeating the process, with Barnes and Noble, with local bookstores, which whoever will carry my book.  I need to order enough to start selling them out of the back of my car, as I saw someone describe it.  I need to start paying myself back for the money I’ve got in the book!  I also have been writing the followup, I added two new stories last week.  The next one I write I will send out as an email just to keep people’s interest up.

So, yay me!  It feels like progress.

2 responses to “It’s here, it’s here!

  1. Wow! Congratulations, Dan!

    I was replying to you about the LEEDs info on LinkedIn, and noticed your blog link. I followed it and… well, I’m impressed. Congratulations on publishing your book – I wish you great success!

    Have you written a press release and sent it out to all of the papers in your area? They’d likely be happy to cover a local citizen whose book has just been published. Make sure you include that fantastic photo of the book in the, ahem, reading room! : )

    And if you’re not sure how to write a press release, don’t get too hung up on the style. Just send an email to the editors (usually you can link from the papers’ site) telling them that you’ve just published a book and would love to see if they’d consider doing a story about it. Tell a bit about it, attach the photo, and tell them you’d be happy to send a complimentary copy. OR pick up the phone and call them (always better), but then offer to send more info via email or mail (w/ the book).

    Don’t be too wordy in your initial email, if that’s the route you go.

    Good luck!!

    – Ola

  2. Awesome!
    That has to feel incredible!
    Dan, congratulations on your achievement!

    peace,
    Chuck

Leave a Reply

